Frequently Asked Questions

Who decides how much council tax we have to pay?

Why is nothing simple? Unfortunately the answer isn't. Your Council Tax is made up of 4 elements - Northamptonshire County, Daventry District, Northamptonshire Police and the Parish (i.e. us). The first three elements are the same across the county, that is, every household pays the same amount in each band. Those three authorities control how much that is.

The Parish bit is called the Precept and that is controlled by Daventry Town Council and is decided through the budget process for services we will provide in the following financial year.

For more information visit our Finance page.

Last updated: Wed, 14 Apr 2021 09:19